What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

KY97A Problems

rv6ejguy

Well Known Member
I've been flying with no radio problems for 10 years but now after the big overhaul, both my KY97As are horrible when transmitting- not always but often. They are crystal clear receiving but have very high levels of noise when transmitting, when comm 1 is bad, I can hear the noise in the headphones, when clear, comm 1 also sounds clear.

Comm 2 sounds clear in the headphones when transmitting but is unreadable by the tower 100% of the time.

I did a lot of work behind the panel but all down low, away from the radios and wiring which are up high.

I checked and moved grounds to separate locations yesterday, no real improvement.

Any ideas from the VHF gurus here on where to look? I am out of ideas now and ready to rip out all the wiring and start over.:(

Start with the antenna connections. Make sure the antennas are properly bonded (grounded) to the aircraft skin.

If you don't have a good ground on the engine it turns your airplane into a large capacitor. Capacitance cancels inductive reactance so that can have an effect on transmit performance.

Start with the antenna connections. Make sure the antennas are properly bonded (grounded) to the aircraft skin.

Hmmm, they have never been specifically grounded to the skin and worked perfectly for 10 years that way. Each radio has its own SS whip antenna mounted with the supplied ceramic isolators. Transmission signal is strong, just a lot of noise on it and comm 1 works perfectly about 1/3 of the time.

I will check this out but it does not seem like this would cause an intermittent noise problem, just a weak transmission.

If you don't have a good ground on the engine it turns your airplane into a large capacitor. Capacitance cancels inductive reactance so that can have an effect on transmit performance.