What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Kit Arrives Today!

doctornigel

I am patiently waiting for the shipper to bring the empennage for my RV-10!!

I have mostly prepped my garage for it, cleaned it out,banished my old SUV to the driveway, air-conditioned it (I live in Florida), have two new work benches, got most of the large tools (Avery and Cleveland will deliver the rest next week). I still have to get my new compressor wired-up (it's 230V), but I have a noisy oil-less as a back-up. I took a builders course a few weeks ago. Used to rebuild engines in high school and do most of my home and office maintenance, I'm a dentist so tools and figuring out new skills doesn't scare me (it may scare my patients, though!)

Any words of advice or encouragement are appreciated, I'm looking forward to it! Thanks. :D :D (pre RV grin)

Holy cow, Nigel. Congratulations!

It's wonderful moment when that delivery truck backs into the driveway - felt like Christmas morning for me.

Welcome to the fun and nice meeting you!

Best,
Doug

doctornigel said:
Any words of advice or encouragement are appreciated

Advice? Enjoy the Process!

Encouragement? You've already taken the toughest step - gettign started!

doctornigel said:
Any words of advice or encouragement are appreciated, I'm looking forward to it! Thanks. :D :D (pre RV grin)

Do something each day, even if it is nothing more than sweeping out the shop.

Steve Eberhart
RV-7A, Lycoming O-360-A1A, Catto 3 blade, Slider, starting to work on the panel

If you have kids, get them involved in the parts unwrapping / inventory process when the crates arrive. It's like Christmas for them, too!

Un loading

You will need help un-loading the crates if it is a full kit, or the tub and wings if a QB.

Best advice I can give is to make a lot of notes as you inventory everything. And figure out a logical way to store things----------