What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Insurance Requirements

bhassel

Well Known Member
What type of requirements are being requested for the pilot's of the RV10's (hours, ratings, etc)? I am a low time pilot but the 10 fits our needs.

Thanks,

Bob

Last edited:
I had about 200 hours and had to do 5 hours wih Alex. I had about 100 hours in a Tiger so transition wasn't to difficult.

RV 10 insurance hours

I have around 600 hours , mostly in a C 177. I bought a RV 10 and had to have 5 hours of dual. Got $180,000 coverage for around $1500 per year.

I have around 600 hours , mostly in a C 177. I bought a RV 10 and had to have 5 hours of dual. Got $180,000 coverage for around $1500 per year.

That is really cheap! I have over 17,000 hours and have just renewed my insurance after the first year. I got $200K hull insurance and a discount for Technologically Advanced aircraft, and came in at $2900 through AIG. I have about 2000 hours of single engine time and now have about 160 hours of RV-10 time. I was required to get five hours of dual when initially insuring the aircraft last year. I got mine from Alex D. in Dallas. Great experience! Got to meet DR as a bonus, too!!

I would be very interested to know who you used for insurance. That is a fantastic price!

What type of requirements are being requested for the pilot's of the RV10's (hours, ratings, etc)? I am a low time pilot but the 10 fits our needs.

Thanks,

Bob
Bob,
The main insurance companies that write the RV-10's want to see at least 250 Total hours. AIG/Chartis Insurance will want you to get around 5 hours of dual with Mike Seager or Alex DeDominicis, while Global will require 5 hours but with any CFI that they approve.

Hope this helps

Jenny Estes
NationAir Aviation Insurance
877-475-5860