What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Installing firesleeve

LettersFromFlyoverCountry

Well Known Member
I've watched the very excellent EAA video on installing firesleeve, but I still have one question that was unanswered. I've installed a couple of right-ange Aeroquip fittings on an Aeroquip 701 hose used for a fuel line. It's clear to me on a straight fitting, the firesleeve should go right to the nut, but I have a hose with a couple of right angle fittings. Should the firesleeve end at the hose-to-fitting connection? Or should it go onto the much smaller tubing that forms the right angle?

f79500fe-d9c9-4670-a782-be6096517378.jpg

My thoughts

I'm no expert but here's my opinion:

I used steel fittings on all fuel and oil lines firewall forward. With that approach, all you need to worry about is that the firesleeve covers the hose.

Yours appear to be aluminum. I'd cover it.... or change to steel.

Don

For what it's worth

I wondered the same thing, and researched what others have done. Here are the most popular solutions I found in my non-scientific study:

1) terminate the fire sleeve before the elbow and leave the aluminum elbow exposed. Not the greatest solution in the world, but keep in mind you're attaching the hose to an aluminum gascolator, an aluminum fuel pump, or an aluminum carburetor in most cases. The fire sleeve still protects the rubber.

2) order a steel 90 degree fitting from Aircraft Spruce. Part number 04-05800. This option eliminates the aluminum elbow and the hefty price tag that goes with it. This fitting does add another threaded connection in the system, though.

3) use some other series of flex hose for the fuel lines. I'm not aware of steel end fittings for Aeroquip 701 hose.

I went with option 2. Let us know what you decide to do!

M

for whats its worth-