What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Industrial PLC Electrical System

Naruto

Well Known Member
Hi guys,

I am a industrial programmer by trade and I am considering using a industrial PLC with a touch screen PC based HMI for my RV electrical system. I would like to know what others think if I should bother researching this for use in my RV. For those that do not know what a PLC is, it is a programmable logic controller used in industrial applications that are used to control machinery. A plc is composed of a processor, input and output modules that take field signals from devices like switches, transmitter and transducers to operate things like valves, motors and actuators. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Programmable_logic_controller You can also take analog signals for indication displayed on the HMI (human machine interface). I figure I can take all the signals from flow meters, temp signals, RPM, practically any device that is a electrical signal into the PLC and program what ever I need to and control and monitor my electrical system. The HMI would be a 6 or 10 inch touchscreen pc based display with intouch software for the graphics interface to monitor and control my electrical system.

I use the graphics software for work so I would not have to shell out a bunch of cash for the HMI software and just purchase the PLC hardware and touch screen. The link is a brochure of the graphics package I plan to use so you can see the quality of the icons.

http://www.wonderware.com/downloads/inTouchBrochure.pdf

I would purchase the PLC hardware for Automation direct or similar vendor since their pretty cheap.

http://web3.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/PLC_Hardware

HMI screen vendor.

http://www.superlogics.com/industrial-computers/panel-pc-computer/35.htm