What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

In the starting blocks

WingedFrog

Well Known Member
I am ready to order the empennage but given the lead time of 12 weeks for the other kits I am wondering if I should order the fuselage at the same time. I plan to "invest" 24 hours per week but as a first time builder I expect lots of overhead time at the beginning (I built a shop for this project and it has to be set-up and organized first). Bottom line: I have no idea on the number of hours needed to finish the empennage. If I order both kits at the same time, I would have 240 hours of work before the fuselage comes in. Is this about right?

I had 262 hours in the fuse kit & 107 hours in the empennage. Your "mileage" may vary. ;)

Last edited:
Build order....again!

I am ready to order the empennage but given the lead time of 12 weeks for the other kits I am wondering if I should order the fuselage at the same time.........If I order both kits at the same time, I would have 240 hours of work before the fuselage comes in. Is this about right?

About 118 hours in the empennage kit for me, a first time builder. I see you are considering the fuselage next. Not the recommended build order as there are wing parts that you have to have in order to build the fuselage correctly per plans. This issue keeps coming up...there are numerous threads in the forum to research regarding the build order.

Tony