What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Improvements in RV-7(A) vs RV-9(A)

diamond

Well Known Member
I'm fairly new to VAF, so wasn't around back when either the RV-7(A) or RV-9(A) kits came out. I was reading some history on Vans website and learned that the RV-7 came into being approximately 4 years after the RV-9. So here's my question, and this is NOT intended to be a "which is better RV-7 vs RV-9" debate. In the 4 year span between the two models, what did Vans Aircraft learn from the RV-9 that they made improvements on with the RV-7? The obvious wing design is not the type of change I'm talking about, because that's not an issue of "better", as much as it's just different. One could argue that Vans makes improvements with every new aircraft, but since the RV-7 and RV-9 are so similar and came out back-to-back, I'd like to know what improvements were made in the 7 compared to the 9.

Actually the RV-7 was NOT a totally new design. It was simply a culmination of the RV-8 and RV-9.
The RV-6 (the most popular of the RVs) kit had no "matched hole tooling". The RV-8 and the RV-9 did. The RV-8 was a close match to the RV-6 in aerobatic performance. So the RV-8 wings and tail was matched to the RV-9 fuselage, thereby making a good replacement for the RV-6 with a minimum of tooling changes.
Thus the RV-7 was created.

Actually the RV-7 was NOT a totally new design. It was simply a culmination of the RV-8 and RV-9.
The RV-6 (the most popular of the RVs) kit had no "matched hole tooling". The RV-8 and the RV-9 did. The RV-8 was a close match to the RV-6 in aerobatic performance. So the RV-8 wings and tail was matched to the RV-9 fuselage, thereby making a good replacement for the RV-6 with a minimum of tooling changes.
Thus the RV-7 was created.

And the first RV-9 was a heavily modified RV-6.