What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

HS Premount sanity check

ArVeeNiner

Well Known Member
Hi:

I'm at one of those you know what puckering parts in the assembly of my RV-9A. One of those places where you don't want to screw up.

I'm about to drill my HS to the rear of the fuselage and I just want to make sure I've got everything in the right place before I drill.

I measured the distance from the tips of the HS to the same points on either side of the firewall and both dimensions are within 1/16" of each other.

I drew a line between the tooling hole vertically on the rear most fuselage bulkhead just before the HS. Then I laid a straight edge across the forward and aft spars on the HS and lined it up with the mid points of the HS. It ended up lining up perfectly with the line I drew on the bulkhead.

So far I think I'm good to go but I have a question with the 0 degree incidence angle. First of all, 0 degrees to what? I'm thinking that we're trying to get the plane which lies across the forward and aft HS spars to be parallel to the Aft Deck. I used 11/32" drill bits under the rear spar as directed. I then attempted the measurement from the Aft Deck to the spar tooling holes as directed. THIS IS A VERY DIFFICULT MEASUREMENT TO MAKE! Do you have any tips on how to make this measurement? Using a couple of methods (including a long distance eyeball) I measured that these measurements for the fore and aft tooling holes on the right side of the fuselage are the same (1 30/32" each). The left side measurements also agree fore and aft but with a slightly different value from the right (1 29/32" each). This seems good enough to me but like I said, I'm not comfortable with the accuracy of these measurements.