What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How to build fuselage rotisserie for quick build RV-8?

larry48

I'm New Here
anyone have details of how to build fuselage rotisserie for quick build rv8 on way to harbor freight for engine stand..what about tail

Welcome to VAF!!!!

Larry, welcome aboard the good ship VAF.:D

One thing to watch out for using the engine stands, the axis of the rotating assembly needs to be perfectly horizontal, most have a slight up tilt toward the engine side.

You can span the engine mount holes with angle stock, and bolt that to the engine stand spider arms, rig up a simple round tube off the rear bulkhead, and use a sawhorse with a "V" notch n the top to hold the tube.

Good luck,

larry48

thanks i am new to this process ...have wing cradle done trying to figure out how to build rotisserie?

Rotisserie

How I did it:
1) Buy inexpensive engine stand (mine came from Harbor Freight also). I left off the wheels.
2) Fabricate an x shaped structure from 2x4s.
3) Match drill to engine stand flange in the middle.
4) Match drill to firewall.
5) Assemble with appropriate nuts, bolts and washers (stacks of washers used to space it out clear of the firewall flange).
6) Aft end sits on a well padded stack of two milk crates.

Not the fanciest ever seen, but completely functional. Nothing about it I'd do differently if I had to do it over.

Welded up angle iron will work fine in place of the 2x4s if you have those materials handy.

Better shot, also from Rick.

9qwyuu.jpg

anyone have details of how to build fuselage rotisserie for quick build rv8 on way to harbor freight for engine stand..what about tail