What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Hot Cylinder #6

J Twilbeck

Well Known Member
So, I've been flying for a few months now and have an issue that I'm not sure how to solve. All of my temps are really great except cylinder #6. It is almost always 20 degrees hotter then the rest. So lets say during a flight I get 380 on all of the other cylinders I read 400-410 on cylinder 6. Leaning helps cool this cylinder down but it never settles down to what all the other cylinders show. This is the cylinder that sits right next to the oil cooler opening. And my oil temps are actually a little low. Running around 165-170 during cruise.

- Yes I tried swapping the CHT probes and I got the exact same readings. So that's not it.

- Do I install an oil cooler flapper to increase the oil temps and maybe force more air around cylinder 6 to cool it?

- Should I try restricting the airflow to the oil cooler at the opening, just block some of it off with a strip of aluminum, reducing oil cooler flow and forcing more air around cylinder 6? This is a much easier to install solution.

- Is there something else I'm missing?

Any help would be appreciated.

On any install, recommend adding a butterfly valve inline with the air to the oil cooler, like this one: http://www.averytools.com/prodinfo.asp?number=1503

On most flights I end up closing down the butterfly valve to keep oil temp up into the 185-190 range. I note that this also provides come #6 CHT temp reduction. It is a must have for winter ops.