What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Hello World!!!

macintron

Hello everyone,
My name is Marcos Cintorn and as this is my first time posting to the VAF forums I would like to introduce myself.
About me:
I am 26 year old RV builder hopeful who has had his eyes on building an RV for the better part of 8 years now. Currently I live in the Portland, Oregon area working in the IT field. I have been flying for about 5 years now as a SEL PPL. My experience with RV?s has been pretty hands on. I helped a friend of mine complete his 7A a few years back and have a few hours doing X/C camping and acrobatics in it.
With that in mind?.
Having finally convinced my wife that we should build an RV now the debate comes in, which model should we build? Perhaps I should mention how I managed to convince her. For the last six years or so I have been reminding her that we are building an RV, also having her read trip write ups from other RV flyers certainly helped in selling the travel machine to her!!! We are still about a year out before we order the empennage kit. But now is the time to build the shop.
So which one? 10 or 7A?
Believe me I fully understand that those two models are like comparing apples and pineapples but the question still stand. We may have kids in the future thus why the 10. Also the 10 will allow us to bring other people along for a camping trip like we have been doing with a spam can. The 7A is much much less expensive to build and operate and it is aerobatic capable. Having a fair bit of experience with the 7A my questions will be around the 10.

What are the operating costs like for the 10? (insurance, annuals, unscheduled maint etc?. )