What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Have I got the right rivets???

RetiredRacer

Well Known Member
Ok, I've just started the first of the riveting, so As a novice I may be doing something wrong......but it does not calculate to me.

the AN470AD4-6 does not protrude out through the front HS Spar and the doubler by 1.5 times the rivet diameter, as it is supposed to. They only protrude by the same amount as their diameter.
At this stage I thought there must be some burs or something that was not allowing the two pieces to fit tight together, So I took to them with a sanding block until they were bare metal again. I then sat a straight edge across them and moved it back and forth to make sure there were no high spots.
And in case the primer may have been too thick or something I Cleco'd the two bare metal pieces together without any primer, and really turned up a couple of clamps hard on them to make sure they were tight together. But no....I still had the same problem.
At that point I decided to squeeze a couple of rivets to see how they would turn out. No they did not look good.

But.... when I sat one of the countersink rivets in one of the countersunk holes it protruded out by the right amount, so I squeezed it to see how it looked. It looked good.

When I compared the two 4-6 rivets the overall length of the two rivets are the same. But this does not calculate, because the manufactured dome shaped head rivet should have a longer shank than the countersunk headed rivet to go through the same thickness material.

Is it something I'm doing wrong, or were the wrong rivets packed in the right bag.

The AN470AD4-6 have a 8.32mm (.327") length shank.

Bob and Robyn (Qld Australia)

Last edited:
Situation normal

Bob