What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Garmin G3x vs G900x

GusBiz

Well Known Member
Guys,

I am new to Van's but not new to aviation and I am planning my Panel. (or more to the point my budget for the panel, I like to know what I am going to be spending before I start a project with all my cash in)

I have been comparing the G3x and the G900x by garmin and to be honest, other than screen realestate I don't really see any differences. The 900 has more coms integration but if you buy the G3x and a garmin radio stack then thats integrated anyway.

It looks like the G3x, when purchased with a whole bunch of other equipment that is compatable with it basically acts like a G900x anyway.

I spoke to the guys at Garmin here in Australia (or their reps here in Australia, Peter Lapthorne over at Avionics 2000 in Essondon Airport Melb, for all the Ozzies here) He is pushed to find the difference between them other than screen size.

Personally screen size does make a difference, if not TVs would have stayed small, its easier to see I feel, but the G3x has all the unit broken up into different hardware items and that offers diverse points of failure.

Has anyone faced this purchase before?

GUSBIZ,

I have a flying rv-10 with the G3X system. I love it but I would say the G900 is more streamlined for IFR flying. You have to program through the 430W (or whatever else is TSO'd like the new touch screen stuff) to fly IFR and fly ARR/DEP/APPROACHES. The G900 would be a bit easier by using the same buttons for VFR. Actually the G900 would show traffic from my GTS800 too. My G3X does not. It will soon but not right now. I probably would have bought the G900 if money was no object but it is and probably always will be.

430W compatability

Thank you Sean,

I was told that the 430 was actually integrated and basically I could operate it from the G3x, so your saying that isn't true?