What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

G2 on operating a Rotax in RV-12

Ex Bonanza Bucko

Well Known Member
Hi:
I'm a newbie and I'm all full of questions. Thanks to a bunch of guys here for starting my education.

My next wonderment is about the Rotax engine and A.)ethanol and B.)Lead in 100LL.

Naturally I will try to operate on 91 octane auto gas but sometimes that won't be available. So how big a problem is it and how is it best managed when I have to use 100LL. I have heard that 25 hour oil change is recommended (I do that anyhow on a Bonanza) and that at the oil change the lead has to purged from the oil tank. Your comments would be valued about this.

Then I note that Van says they have been running 10% ethanol auto gas for four years with no problems. But what are the best steps to manage that? It's been said somewhere here that you shouldn't allow a tank of auto gas with ethanol in it to sit over 30 days and, if you do, to drain it out and start over. Is that so and why?

It also would seem that any water that got into the tank would combine with the ethanol and, thus, disappear.....in other words, not cause engine stoppage as it would in a Continental or Lycoming. Is that so?

I've also seen the uTube that says you have to "burp" the oil tank before starting the Rotax engine and that not doing that will potentially cause you to burn up the cylinders. Is that so? Do you always do that?

Thanks for your input. I will go to any web pages you suggest and read your comments with great interest.

EBB

I recommend that you take the two day ROTAX service course offered through Lockwood or California Power Systems. It helped me a lot. I don't claim to be an expert, but I can share my operating experience over the last 18 mos. The burping is done to get an accurate oil level. You are pressurizing the crankcase with cylinder leakage to force oil back to the tank.