What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fuel Vent Lines

I'm a 7A builder, and am presently fabricating the fuel vent lines. I plan the 7A to be IFR capable, and while I don't plan on deliberately flying into icing conditions, it think it's nonetheless prudent to plan for the possibility. My question is whether anyone has considered the possiblity that the forward facing vents become clogged due to icing, and opted to add an inboard valve to the existing line that could be opened if necessary? I'm not sure this is a good idea or not. I'd appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

Last edited:
Alternative solution

Cessna puts their fuel vent right behind the strut which is a clever way to prevent ice in the opening. So you might consider putting something in front of the vent rather than an inside vent. Venting a tank inside the cockpit is IMHO risker than the chance of ice being a problem.

Drill a 1/32" hole on the back side of the vent line. This will allow for venting if the front gets clogged with ice or a bug. Drill the hole outside of the skin though, if (when) you over fill your tanks the drips will just hit the deck.

Last edited:
I teed a one-way check valve into the right vent line at the high point inside the cockpit. With pressure in the tank it is closed off, but if the vent should become clogged by mud duabers, ice, etc. the check valve automatically opens up to vent the tank. Take off is always on the right tank, and switched if accidentally encountering icing conditions.

Vic

Vic, do you have a part number of the check valve you used. Where did you get it, and did you test it to insure it could deliver enough displacement air. This sound exactly like what I'm after. Something automatic, that will keep the fan going when the unexpected happens.