What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fuel pickup

wirejock

Well Known Member
Oh bother!
I recently decided to swap the flop tube in the port tank for a standard pick-up. Basically the slow build took so long the flop tube reached replacement TBO. It was pretty stiff.
Since I used the cork seals on the access plates, I figured it would be wise to remove both tank access panels and reinstall correctly with proseal. Today I used the starboard side as a template to build the port side. After hours of work it's finished but looking back at plans, both access panels and pickups are installed incorrectly. They're backwards! Apparently I was a bloody expert and didn't read the plans. Oh bother! Yes, they probably would work installed backwards, but they're wrong. Wrong is wrong.
Parts ordered to build two new access panel mounted fuel pick ups.
Moral...read and follow the plans and manual. Vans provided them for a reason. So idiots like me wouldn't mess things up.
So frustrated. I'm never gonna get this girl flying.

20230824_163810.jpg

20230824_163916.jpg

I feel ya. Not on fuel pickups, but I'm embarrassed to think of the number of times I've built multiple parts as called out in the plans, only to realize I've made 2 lefts or 2 rights because I wasn't paying attention (since I KNEW I had things figured out and didn't need to bother walking around the bench to take another look at the drawings). By the time you make a part the 3rd time, it looks pretty great though! :D

"Stuff" happens! Sometimes it feels like every 2 steps forward is 1 step back.

Can you rescue the parts you have? It would involve removing the sealant, not so easy without the right chemicals.

Where is the fuel level sender located? Mine (floats) are in the access cover.

Locked and sealed

"Stuff" happens! Sometimes it feels like every 2 steps forward is 1 step back.