What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Forward or Back?

SHould the canopy knob be locked whe it is Forward, or Aft

• Aft

Votes: 3 6.0%
  • Forward

Votes: 43 86.0%
  • You're Supposed to Lock the Canopy?

Votes: 4 8.0%

• Total voters

Ironflight

VAF Moderator / Line Boy
Mentor
OK, so I am getting ready to add the canopy frame to the RV-3 cockpit, and have studied all of the RV-3 and -4 web sites I can find. Van?s design calls for a canopy latch that you pull back to lock and push forward to open. Lots of folks don?t like this, and have made a pretty easy modification to reverse the action ? forward is locked, back is open. Being an -8 driver, I of course twist to lock now. So here?s an easy poll (which I am sure will start a lively debate) ? forward to lock, or aft to lock ? that is the question! Comments on why your choice is the absolutely only way to build an airplane will be entertained. Lists of all the cool airplanes that have them in each direction will be educational.

Please keep it civil of course! :D

Paul

Forward

Not being familiar with the -3 and -4 latching mechanism, my only thought is this: Could a cuff of your sleeve catch on the knob and pull it forward, say while reaching towards the panel? If so, it seems like a lock-forward arrangement would be safer.

My vote is for forward locking.

Ready for flight? Everything goes forward; Canopy latch, throttle, mixture, prop.........

If the latch knob is mounted on the airframe, and not the canopy, yes forward.

If the knob is mounted on the canopy-------direction of movement, I.E. close and lock both forward, unlock an open both rearward.

I will send you a bill for the 2 cents:rolleyes:

Well, the 6, 6A, 7, 7A, 9 and 9A tip up all have forward latches. The latch on the three that is latched with a pull is just another one of those things that Van did and never looked back.

Foreward Ho!