What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Forgive a Canadian primer inquiry!

swixtt

Well Known Member
:eek:hello... i'm just starting out on my 9a and i've read and read about the 'primer wars' and certainly don't want to start anything here.
i feel a little more confused than i originally did. i wasn't really planning on doing any primer cover for the parts as most of the parts are coated from factory already. i realize that Van's has suggested treating the extruded pieces but where do one draw the line. those pieces that will be primed have holes in them, all be it they will be riveted, but that won't stop corrosion will it?
a lot of people say they are going to prime the pieces that are touching. i think there seems to be a lot of areas where pieces are touching. ribs to spar, ribs to skin,etc.

what have other canadian builders done for sources of the primer? rattle cans seem sketchy as i've NEVER seen a autobody guy use them. they even say some contain moisture in them.:rolleyes:

As Vans states throughout the manuals "prime if desired". If the aircraft spends its life inland in a dry environment and is hangared, you are possibly wasting your time priming any alclad parts. Prime the non-cladded parts as Vans says to like pushrod tubes and possibly some brackets.

If you are near the coast or in the humid/ rainy part of BC, priming makes more sense and if the aircraft is not hangared, you should probably prime everything with good 2 part primer.

I see many RV builders agonizing over priming, setting up booths, cleaning up and worrying about how to dispose of paint, etching and alodining products. Only a small proportion of builders put 500 hours on in the first 5 years. You have to ask yourself if priming is worth it for you and your climate.