What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Flight Test cards

yankee-flyer

Well Known Member
Has anybody REALLY tried to observe and write down all the information required for the flight test cards while trying to retain control of a relatively unfamiliar aircraft and maintain a watch for other traffic? I think I'm a reasonably competent pilot, but I'm not a graduate of a Test Pilot School!!
What happens if you don't return the PAP data cards to Van's or if they aren't 100% filled out? Do they repossess your airplane? Does it lose its ELSA certificate?

Personally, I'm MUCH more interested in flying the aircraft safely for the first few hours than I am sitting heads-down in the cockpit, solo, watching a still unfamiliar electronic panel, trying to punch the right buttons to call up the display with the required info, and then writing it down legibly in the small blocks required.

Wayne, who's way too old for all this

I believe you have to have those cards filled out in order to get out of Phase I. If you need more than 5 hours, then so be it.

I would suggest seeing if you could get someone on the ground to read off the questions and and write down the answers! Alternatively, you could just say the results as you fly, and write them down afterward.

Test cards and Phase 1

My FAA operating limitations say nothing about test cards. I only have to operate in phase 1 for 5 hours and make the required entry in the log book if everything is 'OK' - there is nothing about Van's test cards.

There are ways...