What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Finishing Kit ... whoops! Fuselage Pin Stopper & Cowling

JerryG150

Well Known Member
I started the finishing kit yesterday and immediately messed up. :( Section 30-02 step 1 ! Tap the hole in each of the WD-1217C Fuselage Pin Stoppers... tap for 10-24 screw. I had a hard time with the first one (salvagable I hope) and then cracked the new tap (Home Depot $5.00, not in Avery's RV-12 kit) in half deep inside the stopper. I wish it would have said ... "final" drill hole with a #25 bit before tapping ... like it usually does. By the way ... each WD-1217C Fuselage Pin Stopper cost $30.00 ... ouch$ I'm still learning.

So I skipped to section 31 and the revised section 31-02, revision 1 step 6 calls for an AN931-4-12 grommet to be modified in step 6 on the 6/23/09 revision ... not in kit ... so I ordered 2 (in case I break one, not unlikely).

Then I skipped to section 38:Cowling. Now here's my problem. Section 38, step 1! Figure 1:Trimming the Top and Bottom Cowling ... do I remove material to the scribe line in the bottom cowling around the semi-circle where the prop protrudes and two inboard areas adjacent to the semi-circle where there are no hatched areas indicated, yet there is a scribe line? Don't see a scribe line ending the top of the bottom cowling from side hatched removal of material to front adjacent non hatched area. Hope someone understands what I am asking. I'm thinking I'll remove just the hatched area and draw an "imaginary line" connecting to the front unhatched area ... can't see a scribe line there.

Also my fuselage and attached tailcone are on 3 short homemade sawhorses. Do I put my 245lb. body in the cabin to do the wireing ... or should I wait to install the landing gear, inflate the tires and then get in for the first time? I don't want to damage the bottom of fuselage where it meets the sawhorses.