What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Financing vs. paying cash for a flying RV (financial gurus please chime in)

Duncannon

If I have $300k invested into the stock market, I could potentially withdraw the funds to buy an RV; in my case it would be around $100k (a 6 or a 9 with a VFR panel). However, it could be better to leave the money invested and just finance, as I would lose considerable earning power of compound interest, not to mention I’d be taxed and would have to withdraw over that amount to compensate (withdrawing $50k one year and withdrawing $50k the next year would probably help save a bit on taxes). I’m not a financial expert by any means, but I’m aware of compound interest by continually investing over the years. That being said, if some major expense were to come up such as an engine overhaul, etc, I wouldn’t be bankrupt. And withdrawing $20k from my investment portfolio wouldn’t take away near the earning power (or be taxed) as much as withdrawing $100k.

Now if I had well over $1 million invested, I wouldn’t be quite as worried about withdrawing funds to buy a $100k aircraft, particularly if I were at an older age. I also have a Roth IRA, but I’m nowhere near the age to withdraw. And I may want more than $300k invested before owning an aircraft. But bad though it may be to have to withdraw, I wouldn’t be broke if there were a major expense. For those of you who bought their airplanes already built, what are your thoughts (I’d assume it’s different to finance a kit)? I figure anyone who is able to own an aircraft has just gotta be good with their money…

I financed my build mainly to keep a certain level of monthly ‘payments’ consistent. Once I was done building I just paid the rest of the note off.

I did hear the bank I used stop financing builds.