What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Finally Took The RV-12 Plunge

JJStines

Well i ordered my empennage kit and finally made the commitment to build an RV-12! While there are a few areas that I feel could be improved, overall I'm convinced that it is one of, if not the best LSA eligible kit on the market today. I'm looking forward to getting started.

Allow me to be the first to welcome you to the group of 12 builders. It is a choice you will become more sure is the right one as you build. Don't forget you can change those things you don't like, either after ELSA certification, or you can go EAB from the start and build in those changes you wish to make. The build goes very fast compared to most homebuilts.

Thank you Don. This is my first build so I'm gonna take it slow. I plan to build and register it as an ELSA so I guess initially there won't be any changes. There are some things I feel can be improved upon besides the cost, but it's nothing I couldn't live with. It's nice to know that there's such a wealth of knowledge right here to tap into.

While you wait for your kit, one of the best things you can do is read as much of this forum as you can. Copy text and links to specific issues you think you will want to remember later. I highly advise 2 blogs - Dave's and Marty's at:
http://www.schmetterlingaviation.com/
On this one, look at the right-hand side and download the PDF file that contains all of the posts from Dave's first half of the build. Highly informative as well as entertaining.
And
http://martysrv12.blogspot.com/
Now there are many other greatr blogs out there but these are the two that I read totally while on a business trip and based on them made the decision to start the kit.
For great pictures of some detailed stuff, also see Tony's photo album:
http://tonytessitore.smugmug.com/RV-12Project
Highly valuable.