What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Final drill skins?

Ueli N

Patron
I am a new builder and started to build on the tail section of the RV 12.
So far not too many problems. Rudder completed.
Something bothers me where I need some expert opinion.
In the plans and on the video there is no mention about final drilling the
skins. With my experience the rivets will not fit through the skin and ribs
without running the #30 drill through first, or at least on most holes.
It seems the holes are about 1/1000 th too small.
If the holes are deburred in the first place, there is no burr visible after
drilling.
How are you handling it?
1: deburr all holes, cleco, drill and rivet
or
2: cleco, drill, remove-deburr, cleco and rivet

Any advise please -

Final Drill Skins

I did not drill the skins (well, in just a few places). For me using an awl to align the holes where needed was enough.

i just got my kit and my experience is that the skin holes are just too small.when a rivit won't fit into the skin only, not attached to anything, the hole is not big enough. if you try a rivit on a few pieces with only that hole you will see that the hole needs a #30 [or equivelent] run thru it. it only takes a .00001 to make or break the fit.
if it won't fit thru the skin alone it is not an alignment issue.

If a rivet will not fit through just the skin holes then something is wrong.

Try a different rivet. Try a different hole.

I have found that some (very few) rivets are larger than others.

Calling Vans might be in order.

-Dave

If a rivet will not fit through just the skin holes then something is wrong.

Try a different rivet. Try a different hole.

I have found that some (very few) rivets are larger than others.

Calling Vans might be in order.

-Dave