What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Filtered LED Driver Now Available

What else do I need?

Aeroelectric Bob has added his filtered LED driver to his website for sale.

Details here:

https://matronics.com/aeroelectric/Catalog/AECcatalog.html

http://forums.matronics.com/viewtopic.php?p=208203#208203

Bottom line is he needs an order for 19 more drivers in order to produce these. I have the prototype and will be ordering one more.

Brian,

I am not a EE but do like the idea of doing my own LED position lights. I am up for ordering these to help get the 20 needed but what else will I need? How complicated is this, I have no experience with a soder iron but could find local help. If you could post or PM the other items and some instrucitons, I assume you will be installing in the cutout wing like I have. Thanks, let me know and I will place the order.

Cheers

Just ordered 2

Brian,
Thanks for running with this, and I'm glad I've been procrastinating regarding giving up on the roll your own led project.

I just hit the Matronics AeroElectric web site and ordered 2 assemblies.

Mike,

I will gather together the links to the threads that detail what I have a little later tonight. Tons of info here in the archives detailing these roll your own versions.

The short version:
If you want to copy the most common design, you will need two drivers from Bob, 6 cyan K2 star LED's, 6 red K2 star LED's, some mirrored plexi and something to make a heat sink out of.

Brian,

I am not a EE but do like the idea of doing my own LED position lights. I am up for ordering these to help get the 20 needed but what else will I need? How complicated is this, I have no experience with a soder iron but could find local help. If you could post or PM the other items and some instrucitons, I assume you will be installing in the cutout wing like I have. Thanks, let me know and I will place the order.

Cheers