What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Extra hole in step

scorwin

309DD86F-5DF7-442C-9C2D-C5B1DF762667_zpstqhot7ao.jpg

How can I fix this? I've ordered the step inserts already but the guide hole is just next to the bolt hole. Use a rivet to fill it in? I have no experience welding. Can't take the mount out and replace it bc the skins are riveted in place.

Any ideas?

http://i377.photobucket.com/albums/...F-5DF7-442C-9C2D-C5B1DF762667_zpstqhot7ao.jpg

Last edited:
access hole

If it were me I would leave it as is and re-drill so the bolt goes through horizontally. Purchase a pair of those access plates van's sells for the wing leading edge to access the stall warning horn and install them in the fuse floor for future step access. In the photo I hadn't re-drilled the hole horizontally yet. Notice how badly I missed center on the vertical bottom hole as well.

step_access.jpg

Several have made a "step bushings" to go inside the step tube that can be used as both a drill guide and something for the step bolt to clamp on when tightening. They would be pretty easy to make or TCW sells them http://www.tcwtech.com/RV-10-construction-project.htm

Last edited:
This is what I found from Section 19. Gonna order it today
That looks good. Going horizontal is a good idea also. I ordered the bushings from TCW also.

ACCESS HATCH DOUBLER (x 2)
VA-195C $4.20 $8.40
ACCESS HATCH COVER (x 2)
VA-195D $2.90 $5.80
6-32
K1100-06 (x 20) $0.64 $12.80
C/Sunk,non-struct
AN507-6R6 (x 20) $0.06 $1.20

Since I'm ordering things anyways....

What size conduit does everyone order? From Vans, it looks like there's only one size (5/8). If not from Vans, where do you get it from?

Last edited:
conduit

5/8's is the only stuff I'm aware that Van's sells. I think it works pretty good. I'm sure there are conduit pipes you can get at home depot that would work.