What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Empennage Countersinking

dnimigon

Hi List. I'm a new builder and trying to get my head wrapped around the countersinking of the front & rear spars on the stab. I've read it over and over and just not sure the right way to countersink these spars. I understand the C/S of the #40 holes in the flanges. It's just the C/S holes on the foward side of HS-906, aft side of HS-903 & forward side of HS-907. For some reason I can't see the big picture here. If anyone has a pic of this. Also the direction that the rivets fit into these. Maybe I'm missing something here or miss read something. You know the old saying, a picture's worth a thousand words. I just don't want to do somethings that I'll regret and ruin.
Dave

I believe what you are referring to is the countersinking of the spars on the outside of the flanges to allow room for the depression of the dimples in the skins that will overlay the spars. In some places the spar flanges are dimpled, but in others where a flat surface is needed on the inside of the flange, the outside is c/s rather than dimpled.

Empennage

Maybe this will help?..

The front spar doubler, HS-907, has 12 holes at the center of the doubler. Six of these holes go to the left front spar and 6 go to the right front spar. These 12 holes are right at the point where the fuselage connects to the HS. The four corner holes are left open for the bolts that attach the HS to the fuselage. The other 8 holes are countersunk on the front of the doubler so the countersunk rivets don?t interfere with the front spar fitting flush against the fuselage.