What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Door hinge nut-plates?

fehdxl

Well Known Member
Anyone see a problem installing nut-plates rather than nuts and washers? I'd repeat the same pattern on the other two bolts too.

My other option is to use all mini nut-plates vice one standard and one mini.

Thanks!

-Jim

2012-03-05_21-23-19_681.jpg

I don't see why you would need to use the nutplates. I fabricated a cover for the hinge area so I could use the Mcmaster Carr seal and get a seal around the hinge, but left enough of an access to install the washers and bolts fairly easily.
IMG_1323.jpg

I have seen this done before on Robin Marks's Rv-10, the 21st photo down http://www.painttheweb.com/painttheweb/RV-10/Doors.aspx
My background is electronics, so I can't really give you an opinion on the structural integrity of using the nutplates.

Nuplates

I did the same as Robin because I also made cover plates to utilize the McMaster Carr seals. Have them mounted, not yet flying, and they seem to hold just as good.

Sure would make door removal safe and easy. Drop the strut, latch the door, pull the screws, unlatch and walk away with door.

door hinge