What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dimple Dies

Daniel S.

Well Known Member
Guys.
I have to ask a question... I broke my 3/32" dimple die yesterday. I started shopping around at the normal tool shops. Is there legitimately a difference between a $40.00 "spring back" dimple die set and the plane old $12.00 dimple die from ACS? I can't tell you what kind I've been using for the past 3-4 months because it came in my Isham tool kit. If there is a noticable difference, could you please explain?

Thanks

Simple Answer

Cleaveland dimple dies are certainly the best you can find.

They produce crisp dimples and let the skin around all flat. I don't have the words to better explain that, but on my skins you can easily tell which dies I used just by looking from an angle with some light. With Cleaveland dies, absolutely no skin deformation is visible while with brand X dies, you can see some waves around.

Cleaveland A-OK!

I use their dimple dies and sell them too, the best I have seen. :)

They are worth every penny.

Thanks guys. I ordered a die from cleaveland... I'mlsa tool snob anyways ;). I broke it trying to get fancy dimpling a couple holes I forgot about. It was totally misuse of my tools.:eek:

I received a surprise tank dimple die in the mail yesterday from Cleaveland. Seems that they were not satisfied with the quality of one that I ordered a few months ago, so they shipped me a new one.

I've yet to use the original die, so I was unaware that there was even the potential for an issue.

That's about as good as customer service can get! And definitely makes paying just a bit more worthwhile!

BTW, the note in the shipment said that this was a very small batch of dies, so not many people got a new one (fewer than 3 dozen).