What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dented pushrod

rjcthree

Well Known Member
Hi everybody, I'm hoping to confirm what I've already decided.

I just unwrapped the 96" AT6-049x1.20 tubing used for aileron pushrods inside the wing. One tube is dented but not bent. The dent is greater than the wall thickness. Back when I was an engineer (as in before I became managment and had my lobotomy) the rule of thumb for thin-wall tubing was if the dent/distortion/damage was > wall thickness, it was scrap, especially if it was used in compression (pushrod, truss member).

I was going to replace it.

I don't think I'm overreacting.

What do you think?

Rick 90432

When in doubt...

I find that I don't lose as much sleep over the possibly good part I've decided to replace as I do over the possibly bad part I've decided to keep.

Usually by the morning I've decided to replace the possibly bad part.

Jim McChesney
Tucson, AZ
-7A finishing kit

Well, the actual forces the tube will be subjected to are pretty small. If the dent is small and didn't bend anything, I wouldn't be too concerned. I mean, you end up drilling 8 hours in the tube before you are done, so think of that dent as just another small hole. Most of tube diameter is there for stiffness, not strength. Before you toss it, at least call Van's. Also, if the dent is near one of the ends, note that you will end up trimming off 6" or more, to that might solve your problem right there.

One of my pushrod tubes was also dented at the end. Ended up cutting off some of it to make it the proper length, so don't bother sending it back until you measure.

greg

Dent

Sorry guys, dent is dead-center. Right where it would buckle. I haven't run the theoreical bucking loads. I thought about reinforcing it, but it's worth the $20 to replace, I think. A hole and a dent resolve into very different resultants - especially with thin wall.