What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

deep CS on HS714?

Med322

I'm New Here
This is my first post here. Been a long time lurker and I'm a first time builder. My question is if you think my countersunk hole (for an eventual 426AD4 rivet) on HS714 is too deep. I called vans and they didnt seem to concerned about it (said there are a bunch of other rivets to hold things together) but I think it may be deeper than I led them to believe.... As far as appearances and fit goes, the 702 forward spar now sits nice and flush (unlike the other holes i CS'd to a more proper depth which have a small gap when the dimple is placed in it), but will it cause other problems once I go to rivet? Thanks in advance

v30njq.jpg

Yes it too deep. Learn from it, and like Van said, move on. There will be plenty of other rivets to hold everything together. Until you master countersinking, go slow and keep checking your cut with a rivet. If the hole will hold a dimple, then make yourself a dimple gage by taking a three inch by half inch scrap of .032, and put a #4 dimple in one end and a #3 dimple in the other. Then use your new gauge to set into the countersink hole as you go to measure how the dimple sits. When the gauge sits flush in the hole and is tight when you try to move it side to side, the hole is correct for the dimpled skin when it is riveted together.

Thanks Danny! So I dont have to go order a new HS714? Tapering and bending those ends were very time consuming but obviously safety and structural integrity come first...

shim

This will be difficult to drive with the AN426 head so deep in the countersink. When I did this, I made a countersink "shim" to fit between the rivet head and the countersunk hole. Can't remember if I machined it on the lathe or made if from a sheet metal dimple, but it worked well.

Drilling rivets,.