What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Continental IO-360 (6 cylinder) in a 7

Tanker

I know this is a very rookie question, but since I am a rookie, I expect only a moderate amount of flaming.
Aside from the slightly higher horsepower and moderately higher weight, what keeps us from putting a Continental 6 cylinder in an RV-7? Does the CG suffer? Is the TBO lower than a Lycoming O-360? Is the 6 cylinder outrageously more expensive? Is the mount too big/wide/long for a 7? Anybody out there done this and have some feedback? I am interested to hear the 411. It is WAY too early in the build for me to be concerned with this, but still...
Reason I'm asking, I heard an airplane go by with a Continental IO-360 and it sounded much better to my ear than all the Lycoming 4 cylinders I've heard.

Rick - FYI no flame intended, but the time and effort required to fit a non-standard engine are no way worth if for "better engine sound".

I am about 3-4 months into the FWF portion of my project with a traditional Lycoming engine.....I can't imagine the time and effort that's required to fit a non-standard engine......it's bad enough with a standard engine.

Just my 2 cents.

Jason

I0 540

Rick, I put in an IO 540 in a Six (well not a Six any more) The only way that I can appreciate the 6 cyl engine noise is to ask a friend to fly by me with my plane while I am on the ground listening. I've done this and it is cool, but they are having all the fun.

I will list the changes that I have made to accomodate a 6 cyl engine.

A custom made engine mount (BIG BIG job)
Titanium gear legs
Custom made 26 gallon fuel tanks
Strengthened the wings
Lengthened the fuselage 10"
Most fuselage skins are the next thickness, except for the .040 ones
Moved the battery to the tail (long and heavy cables)
Modified the cowl to accommodate larger engine
The next size larger of Cleveland brakes for the extra weight