What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Condition Inspection and Professional Help

JonJay

Well Known Member
Since the birth of my 6 I have held the Repairmans Certificate and have done the first three years of CI's. I am lucky having a good number of RV friends and "part time" AP's on the field to give my machine a once over at annual time. However, this year I hired a professional full time AP/AI to go over the FFW with me.
Although we found no sqwacks or anything that would threaten my life, I learned a great deal of "little" things that a pro does that I had never seen or been taught. These items have now become part of my CI check list.

I believe there are many people out there like me. I have done my own maintenance for years, under supervision, learned a great deal and had the confidence to get my Repairmans Certificate to continue to maintain this machine. However, I am not a professional and having someone with years of experience, someone I trust, look at the machine with a new eye and teach me a couple new tricks was invaluable. Total cost = $200.
I would highly encourage others to do the same.

Last edited:
I do something similar. I perform the entire inspection then pay my favorite IA to perform a second FWF inspection. He has never found any surprises, but I like having a second pair of eyes on everything.

Last edited:
Terminology Alert!

Be very careful around here, it is Condition Inspection, there is nothing conditional about it. :D

I agree with the concept of "another set of eyes" and have a IA look at my work every year.

John Clark
RV8 N18U "Sunshine"
KSBA

edited

Be very careful around here, it is Condition Inspection, there is nothing conditional about it. :D

I agree with the concept of "another set of eyes" and have a IA look at my work every year.

John Clark
RV8 N18U "Sunshine"
KSBA

fixed title

Furthering my point. It is not just an inspection.