What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Cleaveland 3X Rivet Gun

BravoPapaVA

I'm New Here
Hello all, first post, new member.

I'm a newbie with air tools. I'm starting the practice kits using the Cleaveland empennage get started tool kit, including a Cleaveland 3X rivet gun. I put a few drops of oil in the air inlet per the instructions, and it worked correctly for a few seconds. Now the air just bypasses out the exhaust of the gun. There is no piston action. The rivet set just pushes out against the spring once with each pull of the trigger. Following suggestions from other threads here, I've beat its backside on the workbench and have puts lots more oil in it. No results (other than an oily and dented workbench!)

I haven't resorted to the suggestions of dismantling the rivet gun to remove crud buildup, etc. This rivet gun is brand new, it must be me. I've tried the recommended 90psi and other settings.

It's Saturday, and I can't stand waiting until Monday to call Cleaveland!

I would appreciate any suggestions.

Bob P

Last edited:
I had a new rivet gun do the same thing. had to disassemble and polish all moving parts and it worked just fine from then on. It is probably a burr, a rough finish on the piston or very close tolerance on the parts. If you are not comfortable taking it apart recommend waiting and contact the vender. It should still be under warranty?

Larry

As to the rivet gun--------are you pushing the set against something, or are you just triggering it in free air??

Mike, yes, I'm pushing against the workbench surface. It worked just right for about 3 burps of the trigger. Then I set it down and came back to it and it won't operate correctly. It gives the set one push and that's it. Just air bypassing out the exhaust.

It just seems a brand new gun shouldn't need disassembly and cleaning, but sounds like I may need to do that.

Gun

Welcome Bob