What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

chains on tailwheel?

flhtquick

I just started learning to fly my dads rv6. The tail wheel has springs and loose chains going to them. On our aeronca the chains are tight with no slack to the springs so is it normal for the rv to have loose chains? It wonders alot more than the areonca when taxi-ing and i mean alot more.

I just started learning to fly my dads rv6. The tail wheel has springs and loose chains going to them. On our aeronca the chains are tight with no slack to the springs so is it normal for the rv to have loose chains? It wonders alot more than the areonca when taxi-ing and i mean alot more.
My airplane has somewhat loose chains per the builders manual that I had. I like it that way. Many seem to prefer tighter steering so they use tighter chains or steering links. It is just a matter of preference.

Last edited:
Like Larry says - a matter of preference. I like mine really tight. It is easy to adjust them tighter, and see if you like it better - loosen them back up if not!

Paul

like i said i'm just learning so i might have some stupid sounding questions but they are important as we didn't build this vans but bought it and don't have the knowledge of a builder. Today was my first day to land it, and on concrete it wanted to occiliate from side to side in the rear like a slow extreme wabble shimmy at slow taxi. I think i will try taxi ing with the alittle tighter. Also but maybe for another thread?, how hard is it to add brakes to the right side?

Like everyone says, it's mostly personal preference.

I like mine snug. No slack, but not "stretched."

thanks for the help. Do you have to even use the chains or can they be replaced with a spring on either side like a decathalon?

thanks for the help. Do you have to even use the chains or can they be replaced with a spring on either side like a decathalon?