What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Can I build time on a -12?

Hink

I'm currently a student pilot and have started work on a -10. By the time the -10 is completed (5 or so years) I would like to have 300+/- hours. The school I'm attending has several cirrus available for rent/instruction and I plan on logging time on them in conjunction with transition training for the -10. Given the rental rates on the 172's, 300 hours would be around $40,000. I looked into buying an older 172 but like the -12 and am willing to put the -10 on hold in order to build one. By the time I get the -10 completed I figure I could recoup more than $40,000 worth of the cost of the -12, or maybe keep it if the boss allows. :p

Basically, I was wondering if time logged on an LSA would count toward my total hours?

Be careful!

The only thing you need to be careful of is that all dual time with a sport pilot instructor does not count as dual toward a private pilot certificate.

Last edited:
I'm currently a student pilot and have started work on a -10. By the time the -10 is completed (5 or so years) I would like to have 300+/- hours. The school I'm attending has several cirrus available for rent/instruction and I plan on logging time on them in conjunction with transition training for the -10. Given the rental rates on the 172's, 300 hours would be around $40,000. I looked into buying an older 172 but like the -12 and am willing to put the -10 on hold in order to build one. By the time I get the -10 completed I figure I could recoup more than $40,000 worth of the cost of the -12, or maybe keep it if the boss allows. :p

Basically, I was wondering if time logged on an LSA would count toward my total hours?

The basic answer is yes your LSA time would count toward future ratings and as good experience by insurance companies when you wish to insure your RV-10.