What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

building space?

I am new to this and am very interested in an RV10. I am currently taking flight lessons and know that if I start now it will be a couple of years before the plane would be ready to use. My question is on space needed to build the plane. I have a detatched shop that is empty. It has a 9ft ceiling and is 27ft wide and 46ft deep. on looking at the dimensions of the plane it looks like that would barely be large enough to put it together. My real problem is I only have a one car garage door into the shop 107in wide by 83.5in tall. With the fusalage put together will the wheels fit through that wide or will the tail fit through it to get it out? Would I need to first have some demolition done and put in a two car door before even starting on it?

I have never done anything like this before and I don't have special mechanical skills or building skills but I am not afraid to learn and to try. Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks
Floyd

Sounds like you are going to have the space you need. Keep in mind, you really are only going to have the wings on in the shop for fitting. Thats a one day event. As far as the door opening.... I'll measure when I get to the hangar tommarrow and see what the fuse width is on our 'training gear'.

Start getting the shop ready, buy as many tools as you can afford, get air plumbed... and get to building! :)

Nick
Friendswood TX
Getting ready to put the "Top" on. :eek:

Door is too low----------

But that doesnt matter----------as with the wings, you can fit the tail to the fuse, and do the misc needed work there, then remove it for later attachment when you are ready.

Good luck, you picked a winner!!

Mike