What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

building a RV-7 and need advise

nmontei

Hello,

I?m building a RV7 this spring and I was wondering if you were to build again what options / avionics / interior / modifications would you do? Please keep in mind that I am a teacher so money IS AN OBJECT, lol at least my wife thinks so. I figured why no take the question to the experts, the ones who have already built a plane.

Thank you very much for your time,
Nicholas Montei

Install a 2-axis autopilot from the get-go. Don't wait until later to upgrade. Upgrades can be a real pain in the butt. Even if you think you don't really need it (you don't, but it's really nice to have) and might not want it, you will eventually...and when that day comes you'll be cursing that you didn't just install it up front! Ask me how I know.

I say just get started on the tail, and answer those 'down the road questions' when you get to that point in the road. If you've already chosen the 7, buy the tail and get goin'! The only choice to make there is whether or not you want manual or electric trim. That'll buy you 4 to 6 months of time to think of the next series of questions...and the tail is cheap motivation in the grand scheme.

Nicholas

Have a real hard look at your planned mission of the plane. This will answer many of the questions you have early in the build phase. Remeber the more that you expect your plane to do the more $$$$$$$$$$$$$ that will be needed. As a retired school teacher it has been the real challenge of the build to get the funds to build. BUT I WILL FIND THEM.....or as my wife says, "there goes the reetirement!!!!!!!!!" "Get a job"!@#$#@!%^%$$#@!!

Don't hesitate to get going even if you haven't a clear notion of the mission as it will evolve over time.

Frank @SGU
RV7A Tip up, ECI IO 360/FI/EI, IFR panel, Looking for the $$$$$$$$$$$$$ to finish.

What are you going to do with it.

Nicholas,