What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Builders Log Question

Bob Ross

I am a first time builder just about to start building the RV12 empennage. Will the FAA accept the use of a software based builders log or is a paper logbook required? I have been considering using the KitLog Pro software.

Thanks Bob

I'm quite sure the FAA doesn't care whether your log is handwritten or printed, as long as it is legible. Maybe Mel can weigh in on this from the DAR perspective. I have been using KitLog and it works well for me. See: http://www.mykitlog.com/BigJohn/

The only knock I have heard on the product is that only 3 pictures are allowed per entry. Usually that's plenty for me, but if you want more you can aleays put in two entries.

Welcome to the club. Hope you enjoy building as much as I have.

My DAR wanted to see a copy of my log. When I told him I didn't have a paper copy but could burn him a CD with my 1) website (KitLog wasn't around when I started but I created a web log) and 2) my KitLog files plus pictures for the last couple of years of the build, he was satisfied. Same when I went to the FSDO for my repairman's certificate; in fact, they went out of their way to say they really loved all the pictures.

In fact, if there's anything I'd like to see added to Kitlog, it would be a log reader program (kinda like the PowerPoint reader MS has) so I could bundle it with my log database and someone who doesn't have KitLog could still see my logs.

Last edited:
Builder's Log

Since there is no 51% rule for the ELSA there is no requirement to prove you did the majority of the work, which is the purpose of a builder's log. I don't keep one because it is not required.