What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Builders Log format suggestions needed

Buzz J

I'm a newbie, now building an RV-12. Anyone have a recommendation for a builder's log format? Best on paper or I there a simple app that will do the job? I appreciate any help you might give!

Buzz J

From the minimalist standpoint, one way is:

Spiral binder. Make columns for Date, Time, Cost, Description.
Use a camera and store photos that are filenamed by date.

Keep the binder and the camera in the shop. Get as many pics as you can with YOU in the image.

Last edited:
I found Kitlog Pro easy to use. When the project was done, print it out and put in 3 ring binder for the inspector to refer to. The FSDO inspector that did my plane inspection spent a fair amount of time flipping through the book.

I recommend simple handwritten notations in a notebook that include date and description of the task. I started transcribing mine into a Word Document but wish I'd have used an Excel Spreadsheet to automatically add my hours. Either way, one can insert photos that correspond with the entry.

BTW, if you go the electronic route, I suggest you regularly print your updates and back the file-up in more than one location. I lost part of an electronic build log once and it was a pain to reconstruct. Printed copies would have sufficed and backups would have avoided the hassle as well.

Good luck.

excel

Buzz,

I just used excel in a very simple format that listed the pages worked pictures comments/notes and time and date. The time was totaled on the top row for a running total of build time.

I built my 12 as a EAB and did not have any issues with the DAR. He like the documentation and that it coincided with the pages of the plans

Send me your email address and send you a copy.

Enjoy the build and take lots of pictures

Another easy option