What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Blue film on skins

BrianP

Sponsor
I’ve seen many people leave the blue film on the skins and remove a small strip for the rivet holes. How important is this? Vans seems to suggest pulling it all off. I’m assuming small scuffs and scratches will come out when prepping for paint?

I'm not an expert -- I've only partially completed an RV-10. But I take it all off right away. I have found that if you leave it on too long it gets tougher to fully remove the film and residue.

I don't understand the value of leaving it on for the outside skin unless perhaps you plan to leave the plane unpainted. From what I have seen, the painting process involves sanding/scuffing the entire exterior in order to then apply primer. So I don't see value in avoiding small scratches on the outside skin.

I'll let others with more experience explain what upside I must be missing since I do see that many people leave it on.

I did the strips…but would not do it again. I would just remove the film.

If you do the strips, you will find surface corrosion at the edges when you do remove the film.

Note that anywhere you place your hands will cause surface corrosion as well.

Normally it doesn’t matter as paint prep will remove it