What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Bare Bone Starter Tool Kits of Full Kits for Empennage?

campi

Well Known Member
:confused:Looking at starting an empennage project soon, and of course need to buy tools. I don't have any tools, so it makes sense to me to start with one of the kits put together by the usual vendors; Avery, Cleaveland, Planetools, etc.

Since I'm just beginning, and don't have any tools, my plan is just to buy what I need first, and then add other tools as the project goes along. However, I don't want to fall in the trap of not having the right tools for the job, getting frustrated, wasting time, etc.

Does it make sense to just buy the bare bone kits from Avery or Cleaveland, or I'm I cheating myself and setting myself up for aggravation if I don't buy the full tool kit for the empennage?

If going with the full kits, any particular suggestions -- and why? With regard to the full tool kits, I'm attracted to the one from Planetools because it comes with the pneumatic squeezer and the DRD2 dimpler. Any suggestions? Comments?

Anything I should add to these tool kits (or to the starter bare bone kits) to make sure the empennage project goes ok?

Finally, I'm curious about some posts that I have read on this site about folks using regular cordless drills for drilling instead of using an air drill? Any problems with that?

Thanks,

Fernando
Washington, DC