What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

AW Certificate and major modifications

WISC

Well Known Member
First I want to say I am no expert but have had a few conversations with the local FSDO about airworthiness certificates.
I have looked at a few airplanes lately some with different engines installed since the original airworthiness certificate was issued. I think it is important to remember that once a major modification has been made there has to be a new AW certificate application made and issued. There are some differences if the aircraft was registered prior to 2003 but a flight test still must be done and logged. There are cases where this has not been done and that airplane is not legal to fly and you are responsible for the airplane if you purchase such an aircraft. I have also noticed that people don?t realize the original operating limitations are part of the AW certificate though it is stated on the certificate. You need those limitations if you are going to purchase the airplane because you have no idea what may be listed.
I pass this along to hopefully help people as they look at aircraft. If I am incorrect I am standing by to be educated.

You prompted me to go back and read my Operating Limitations.

Nothing in there states that I must have a new Operation Limitation issued after a major repair or alteration. All I have to do is put it back into Phase 1 by doing a log book entry, flying off five hours, and signing it out of phase 1.