What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Avionics question

Gagarin737

Well Known Member
I'm about to order the avionics package (I don't go for Skyview).
In a few years we have to have radios with 8,33khz separation in Europe. The Garmin SL40 is 25khz. Funkwerk has the ATR833a and a mode S transponer TRT 800a.
So I think I'll buy the Funkwerk avionics instead of the Garmin SL40 and GTX328.
I'm completely new with avionics and I can't oversee if there are any problems when using the Van's control board with these radios. Further do I miss some integration with e.g. the GPS?
Besides that the ATR833 has an intercom build in, is it still wise to install the Flightcom 403?
Any other thoughts about going this route?

Thanks, Joeri.

Avionics options

Van's control board does not have any components specifically for a particular brand of transponder or radio. So for the most part, the control board provides easy hookups and should work with any brand of radio or transponder. You will need to investigate if the Funkwerk transponder is compatible with the Dynon D-180 altitude encoder. It appears that the Funkwerk ATR833a does not connect with a GPS. So you would not have the GPS features of the Garmin SL40. However, using a different brand of radio and transponder will not affect how the the GPS works with the D-180.
As for the intercom, the SL40 also has a built-in intercom, but Van's chose not to use it. Magazine articles have talked about the built-in intercoms of various radios and indicated that they are not as good as stand alone intercoms. Based on that, I recommend using the Flightcom 403.