What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Audio problems solved (or is phase 1 ever really over??)

rzbill

Well Known Member
Gents,
I have been flying for 3 years and I have had a snag list that was down to a few items that were eluding my ability to solve despite a lot of effort. I got 'em a couple of weekends ago. Purpose of this post is to relate the story in the hopes of helping others.

The three problems (previously thought to be separate):

1) Low level alternator whine in headsets (not really noticeable in flight)
2) Low volume from both Coms. (Usable, but had to turn the radios way up)
3) No Nav audio but Nav indicator OK.

These were recognized right off in phase 1 so work began to correct them.

Here is a list of things I did.

ALTERNATOR WHINE: (none of these worked in my case)
Measured ripple on the 12v bus. OK
Replaced the regulator.
Put ferrites on the B lead.
Ferrites on the power lines to various audio system components.
Removed the cheezy 1/8" jack music input I had wired into the panel.
Installed a condenser on the alternator.
Built an LC noise filter and put it on the audio system power feed.
Refabricated my avionics ground D-Sub.
Replaced master switch
Wired in a relay to possibly give better bus 12V signal to regulator.
Checked grounds everywhere.

NO NAV AUDIO:
Pulled the 430W and put it in another craft to check it (OK)
Traced the wiring behind the panel. (Matched schematic)
Confirmed wiring with multimeter twice. (matched pinouts)
Checked wiring to Archer antenna.
Checked Nav ant SWR with signal producing SWR meter.

LOW VOLUME FROM COMs:
This needs a little explanation. I followed the Aeroelectric mantra of simplicity in the design of my audio system. In that vein, I decided to use his kit audio amp to join my 2 coms and nav signals and then feed that to a NAT AA-80 intercom.
PDF of Iso Amp here