What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Any pilots or Mechanics in North Georgia with RV experience

flyguy74

I'm New Here
Hey fellow pilots! I'm new to the Vans world, I don't own an RV but am going to be in the market for my first airplane and I have many questions to be answered. The main one I have is are there any mechanics in Georgia that can do annuals on an RV6 or RV7?

Maybe I should also ask if an RV would be a good first plane for a new pilot with 130+ hours? I know that a Cessna is always a safe bet but I would really like to have an RV6A or 7A. Are they a stable aircraft? I got into flying with the ultimate goal of having fun and to get into aerobatic flying, eventually. Any thoughts?

Thanks

There are a few good RV A&P's in the North GA area. I would cross that bridge when I got to it.

I had 160 hours when I started flying the -4. A 130 is not too far off. If your goal is only to learn aerobatics consider a dedicated aerobat. RV's seem to do most things well but can scare you and possible damage the aircraft if you do them wrong.

An RV for a low-time pilot?

?Would an RV be a good first plane for new pilot with 130+ hours??

I?ll tell you my story. I had about 200 hours, accumulated 20 years earlier. Thinking about getting back into flying, I took a couple of refresher lessons in a C-172. I rediscovered the joy of flying but I also noticed something else. At my little airport, the folks who seemed to fly a lot, both for the pure joy of it and for going places, had one thing in common: they flew RV?s.

Smart people told me that the most practical airplane for me was a C-182 and I looked at a couple. The nicest one I looked at, in fact, was being sold by a pilot who was finishing up building an RV7. I found the 182s, in a word, boring.