What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Another nose wheel S B Question

Rick_Luck

Forgive me for what might be a trivial question, but I have a curious mind?

When I removed the nose gear leg yesterday, I removed the only bolt/nut that holds it in and thought how awkard, to have a plug in the firewall that must be removed to get the bolt out. Then last evening I was thinking, "Why didn't they simply insert the bolt from the top and place the nut on the bottom, eliminating the need for the removable plug in the firewall?" I thought that maybe there was some interference above the bolt, preventing this but when I looked this morning - and it would be easy.

I'm relatively new to aircraft mechanics, but in the little time I've been working with it, I've also been made aware of a "tennant" that if possible - all bolts and nuts should be installed so if the nut were to somehow come off, gravity should hold the bolt it. I guess the removable plug in the firewall "captures" the gear leg strut bolt. Is that the reason the bolt is inserted from the bottom and not the top?

Like I said, kind of trivial but also interesting in explaining the awkard set-up with the removable firewall plug.

Thanks

Rick Luck
RV9A

It changed...

A change happened somewhere along the RV way.

The original RV-6A plans show the bolt inserted from the top and no hole in the firewall.

gil A

Too close for comfort

<snip>
"Why didn't they simply insert the bolt from the top and place the nut on the bottom, eliminating the need for the removable plug in the firewall?"