What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

A time before......

shiney

Well Known Member
As a newbie, I'm finding that I'm spending a massive amount of time browsing the Internet. It's a mind of information (some may say too much information) and I don't know what I would do without it, from tools to engines and electrical systems, it's there at the click of a button.

But what of a time before the net? Are there any builders here who built the RV before the internet came along? What did you do for information, how did you swap ideas, tips etc? and when it came to sourcing material, products etc was it frustrating or did not know any different so you never gave it a second thought! :)

Cheers

Martin

Spoiled

Hi Martin,
I built an airplane waaaay before the 'net came along (1973/74) and it wasn't a problem at all. We simply found the EAA guys and had at it. They knew where to buy stuff and we made the phone calls. Libraries and the EAA had all the resource written material and we studied how to do things and still do.

As far as rivetting goes, heck that was done before WW2 and any mechanic could show you how in no time and still can. We learned to oxy/acetylene weld from a book and had an EAA member or IA look at it and practised some more until we got it right (still do).

We learned early on to be resourceful and the guys who were better at it than others made the fastest/cheapest progress. That still applies but it's just easier now and we've become spoiled by it.
Regards,

Martin-

FWIW...

My build class instructor, Wally Anderson from Synergy Air, said the first thing he would recommend to new builders is staying off the internet. He has some valid points in that: