What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

a teachable moment

flyeyes

Well Known Member
I ran across this video last night and was bothered by it.

looking through the user's other videos, this one appears to be unbriefed, self-taught formation in dissimilar aircraft. I worry that this won't end well.

On the other hand, someone who takes the time to record and mix together 13 landings in a Cessna 150 strikes me as probably a young, enthusiastic pilot who is eager to learn and expand his skills.

Formation is fun. Low altitude flying is fun. aerobatics is fun. All of these, though, require attention to detail and training to be safe.

It shouldn't be too hard to find this guy in north Mississippi. Is there someone nearby who could maybe mentor him a litttle?

I don't know beans about formation flight - what about this (given the very limited info available that I could see) makes it looks like it was unbriefed and self-taught? Is he doing stuff that no self-respecting formation pilot would do?

I don't even like 500' separation so there's no comfort level in me for this kind of thing - just looking for a little education.

...if the FAA does'nt find him first!
The first video is an obvious violation of 500' abover persons or property.
There is nothing illegal in the second as long as the flight was briefed and conscentual.

In regard to the formation, that looked very sloppy and certainly did not conform to the FFI standards we fly to.

Scary stuff on both counts.

I don't know beans about formation flight - what about this (given the very limited info available that I could see) makes it looks like it was unbriefed and self-taught? Is he doing stuff that no self-respecting formation pilot would do?

I don't even like 500' separation so there's no comfort level in me for this kind of thing - just looking for a little education.