What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

A few questions.....newbie

Ex Bonanza Bucko

Well Known Member
I am an newbie and thinking seriously about either an S-LSA from Vans or an E-LSA professionally built. I have read the operating docs and POH but I have a few questions. These will be answered when I go to Van's to fly an RV 12 but I'd like to know some of this stuff in advance. My years and years of Bonanza, C-182, C-140, PA-17 and Aeronca flying will require me to retrain myself quite a bit.

So: 1.) Is there a fuel quantity display on the 10" Skyview? The POH says to check the fuel quantity in preflight in two places, at the tank and after turning the Skyview on. So how is that done?
2.) The max cross wind component is shown as 11 its. I am used to having to land with a crosswind of about 15 knots or a little more. How big a problem will that be using normal cross wind procedures.....no flaps and a little more speed for Mama and the kids?
3.)Has there been a problem with the landing gear...is it weak in a cross wind touchdown?
4.)Does Vans need to approve addition of such things as hand held GPS and an Accelerometer?
5.)How serious is the "high sink rate" with full flaps and no engine power?

I'm sure there will be more.

Thanks,

EBB

I am an newbie and thinking seriously about either an S-LSA from Vans or an E-LSA professionally built. I have read the operating docs and POH but I have a few questions. These will be answered when I go to Van's to fly an RV 12 but I'd like to know some of this stuff in advance. My years and years of Bonanza, C-182, C-140, PA-17 and Aeronca flying will require me to retrain myself quite a bit.

So: 1.) Is there a fuel quantity display on the 10" Skyview? The POH says to check the fuel quantity in preflight in two places, at the tank and after turning the Skyview on. So how is that done?