What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

470AD4-5 vs 470AD4-6 here?

md9680

Well Known Member
Friend
On page 15-04 -5s are called out for the highlighted area but I'm thinking they're a tad too small in length after driving one. I'm thinking -6 is better here. What say y'all?

Thanks.

1718651708194.png

I have found times when I needed to upsize a rivet. There is no issue in doing so, as long as you are able to properly set the rivet. Just make sure the parts are properly seated before upsizing. That is, no burs, or junk holding the parts ever so slightly apart.

I just set these rivets a couple days ago. The length looked OK to me but I'm a first time builder and I follow the plans 99.5% of the time so...

I have found times when I needed to upsize a rivet. There is no issue in doing so, as long as you are able to properly set the rivet. Just make sure the parts are properly seated before upsizing. That is, no burs, or junk holding the parts ever so slightly apart.
Yeah, it all fit pretty snuggly but I found the shop head to be a bit short as well as undersized. I was hoping to find others that may have had issues with the -5s here.

Sometimes, the rivet sizes called out are right on the edge of being too long or too short. Don't sweat it if you need to make a change, as long as the holes are prepared correctly and the rivets are set properly. Do you have one of the gauges shown on the right in this photo? It's a good indicator to see if the rivet size is correct before you set it. When I first started building, I had one that came with the set, but I had no idea how to use it. Bob Avery with Avery Tools explained how to use it over the phone one day.

1718662081071.png